craftsnotherstuff

This blog is the accumulation of lots of craft projects I am working on

4/26/2013 More from My Craft Room

on April 26, 2013

I have tried working in my craft room this week…it is a slow process because of my wrist pain and my back pain,  but I am determined to get some stuff done…I have worked on an album in which I used one of my newest Sizzix Bigz die which is the one which makes the scalloped albums measuring approximately 4.5 by 9 inches with two holes for rings.  I love this die.  All of my chipboard is kraft color.  So what I did was to use my newest glue stick….therm O Web Superstick Glue Sticks…. I love it.  I applied the glue heavily on the chipboard and then the card stock…I am using black 65 lb weight.  Put it on the chipboard..a piece I had cut to 5 by 9.5. I used my brayer to press it real good.  I allowed it to dry for a few hours. Then I sent it through my Sizzix Bigshot Pro machine and cut the album pages…Oh man it is so cool…came out perfect.  The cardstock sticks so good to the pages and no ruffles or creases.  I then used my black Sharpie flat marker to make the edges black also.  Worked like a charm.  So now I did all of my pages which I did 8 and a front and back.  I am using the Graphic 45 French Country double sided card stock.  I found while using this that is my style of decorating my house also…well what i want not what i have…I actually have early flea market specials decorating going on.  But my preference from now on will be French Country.  These papers are absolutely gorgeous.  And I also purchased some of the chipboard pieces and card stock tags. When making an album of only 4.5 by 9 inches you really do not have a lot of room for too much embellishment.  So the paper is a must for embellishment and this line fits the bill.  I used most the tags and some die cut edges and small pockets to hold the pictures.  I matted each page with the French Country papers.  I used one side on the bottom page and one side on the top page so it would coordinate real good.  I would then use the opposite pattern to make the pocket…which I did on most pages but there were a couple I used only die cut corners or decorative cuts.  I then added some of the tags and also made a couple of booklet mats for a couple of the pages.  So there is a lot of journaling tags and each page is a mat for a picture.  I did make a few flowers to embellish a couple of pages…and I did add a little “bling” to some of the pages and tags…this is as far as I am as of today.  I will make pictures and show you what I have done thus far but still have so much more to do.

DSCI0003  DSCI0005  DSCI0007 DSCI0006DSCI0008

DSCI0009  DSCI0011

DSCI0010

DSCI0012

DSCI0013

DSCI0014 DSCI0015

DSCI0016 DSCI0017

DSCI0018 DSCI0019

DSCI0020 DSCI0021

After doing this much on the album…which I still have lots to do even the front cover…anyway I began  using some of my new Cheery Lynn dies and I just love these…I made some flourishes…for later use on cards and albums…aren’t they gorgeous?

DSCI0022 DSCI0023

And I made some doilies using my Cheery Lynn dies…these are fantastic…so much detail..so much more than a Cricut cut…these measure 4.5 inches across….

DSCI0024  DSCI0026

And then I made some of the smaller ones at 2.5 inches across…even these have so much more detail than most dies or Cricut or other cutting machines have…don’t you just love them…DSCI0027

And I did start making some flowers using some Joy Crafts dies…and to me the ones I have are as good as the Cheery Lynn dies…so you might want to check them out.    DSCI0028


Leave a Reply

