craftsnotherstuff

This blog is the accumulation of lots of craft projects I am working on

Well it is June already ….half a year gone

on June 1, 2013

Well it is June already….half a year is gone…but also half a year to look forward to.  I have had a stretch of time since last posting.  I will TRY to do better.  I am feeling better for the most part.  I had a food poisoning episode last week which actually began the week before.  It was horrible,  Never been so sick in my life…well since the last time I said that….we had purchased some spiced chicken from a grocery outlet close to us and thought the reason for the strange taste was because of the spicing.  not true…it was bad…Since I am a person who hates to waste anything.  I ate it anyway…my mistake….it was bad.  so even after the sickness and fever for a few days I was extremely weak in body.  I still was having trouble with my left shoulder and right wrist….but my doctor gave me some meds for the inflammation which are helping.  Still hurts but I can at least do a few things I could not do before very easily….such as dressing myself…awful..huh?  Anyway I have begun making cuts using my Sizzix Big Shot Pro again and have actually purchased a few new dies…mostly cutting using some I had purchased earlier but had not used….  You have to learn the “sandwich” process when using these die cutting machines.  And even thought they give you a pretty close sandwich idea it does not always work…and some of my dies are other brands than intended for this machine.  I also have the Creatopia cutting machine and it uses a different depth of sandwich altogether…but it is harder for me to crank because of my wrist…so have been using the Sizzix more.  I love it…And I would advise anyone who does a lot of die cutting to get one of these….they are more expensive…but you and cut wider…much…and longer…and the machine is just a lot more industrial than others.  I am finding that I really love the Cheery Lynn design dies so much.  They cut so delicately.  But I have purchased some newer ones which are really in competition with Cheery Lynn now…I am selling these on Ebay and Etsy…the cuts…not the dies or machine…and also giving some away on Listia.com….you have to check them out.  I have gotten quit a few really nice things from listia and no money is involved…unless you don’t charge for shipping which I do…  I also give away some of my tags…which do cost to print…but is minor compared to the items I bid on.  It is an excellent place to just get rid of lots of items you know are too good to just toss…and you get a few points which you can later use to bid on things you do want.  It is just a new venue than Ebay or Etsy…I like the friendliness of it…much like Ebay was in the beginning.  I am working on some flowers that have raffia covered stems right now.  I am doing the cuts with Sizzix thinlets dies…they are really small and so not sure how well they will turn out…but will show pictures when I actually get them done…I am covering my wire with raffia…you can purchase wire covered with a like substance but haven’t even gone to look for them.  I have this stuff and so need to purchase what I can make…right?  I will get back to it now…as I have rested for a while and now can go back to it….so will continue later when I do have some pictures.  I do already have some pictures of some of my cuts and will share a few of them here.  Notice the delicacy of the cuts

Image

these are 4 inch doilies

Image

these are 3.5 by 5 inch flourishes..very delicate

Image

these are the 5 inch doilies

Image

these corners for mounting photos are 1.75 inches…I do mostly white and then color with ink according to what is needed at the time.

Image

These are smaller flourishes I will color them later also

Image

1.5 inch by 11.75 inch borders

Image

Image

Image

these are about 2 by 6 inch borders and trim

Image

one inch letters

Image

another 1.75 by 11.75 inch border

Image

aren’t these just great?  I love this die to make such pretty flowers

Image

These are corners that measure about 4 inches high…great for scrap book holder corners for photos and tags…I am also going to put some of these within my matting frames of pictures whose mats are plain…they really add to the look of paintings and photos on the mats, I may even use a little bordering along the sides of the mats also….

Image

These doily mats were made using the Martha Stewart Circle punch system…I love it…You can make 5 inch up to 10 or 12 inches with these.

Image

This flower was made using a new die from Sizzix and designed by Susan’s garden…They are so cool…but very delicate…so not sure what I can use them on as yet….

flowering quince


Leave a Reply

